New CEO of Maersk Line

By MarEx 2012-12-18 13:47:00

Søren Skou has been appointed new CEO of Maersk Line with effect from January 16, 2012.

Søren Skou was previously CEO of Maersk Tankers and replaces Eivind Kolding who is leaving Maersk Line to become Chairman of the Executive Board of Danske Bank.

”Under Eivind Kolding’s skilled leadership, Maersk Line has undergone an impressive turnaround. Its competitiveness has improved significantly and at the same time, Maersk Line has set new standards for the industry with regards to environment and reliability. Furthermore, Maersk Line has gotten a much stronger focus on the customers,” says Group CEO Nils S. Andersen, A.P. Moller - Maersk.

”I am very pleased that Søren Skou has accepted the important task as CEO of Maersk Line. Søren is a sharp and visionary leader with strong international leadership experience, not least within shipping. He knows container shipping very well both from the time he worked for Maersk Line but also as a member of the Group’s Executive Board where he has stayed in close touch with Maersk Line and the industry. He is quite the right man to continue the development of Maersk Line and expand our positions in the market,” says Nils S. Andersen.

Søren Skou previously held various positions in Maersk Line, from 1983 to 1998. In addition to being CEO of Maersk Tankers since 2001, Søren Skou has played an important part in the Group’s Executive Board. He has, amongst others, headed the Group’s initiatives to reduce costs in 2009 and 2010. In 2011, he has been the leader of the Group’s preparations for further expansion in the new growth markets.

In order to concentrate fully on the tasks in Maersk Line, Søren Skou’s additional positions will gradually be transferred to others in the Group. These include, among others, the board positions of DFDS and Danish Shipowner’s Association, where the Group will nominate CEO of Maersk Drilling Claus V. Hemmingsen, and Maersk Container Industry, where CEO of APM Terminals Kim Fejfer will take over the chairmanship.

The Group expects to fill the position as new CEO of Maersk Tankers internally. Until then, all of Søren Skou’s direct reports will report directly to Group CEO Nils S. Andersen.

About Søren Skou: 

Date of birth: August 20, 1964

Employment history: CEO of Maersk Tankers 2001-2011 (Partner since 2008)

                               Maersk Tankers, leading position 1999-2001

                              Maersk Line 1983-1998, various positions in Copenhagen, New    York (1985-1986) and Beijing (1994-1996)

Education: Management degree from the Copenhagen Business School 1991

                MBA (honours) IMD, Switzerland

Other duties: DAMCO, chairman of the board

                    Maersk Container Industry, chairman of the board

                    Höegh Autoliners, vice-chairman of the board

                    DFDS, vice-chairman of the board

                    Danish Shipowner’s association, board member

                    Group responsible for the Group’s Procurement, Oil Trading and Maritime Technology

Private: Married to Lene Buus Skou, 3 children, lives in Trørød near Copenhagen, Denmark.

About Eivind Kolding:

Date of birth: 16 November 1959

Employment history: CEO of Maersk Line 2006-2011

                              Chief Financial Officer of the A.P. Moller - Maersk Group 1998-2006

                               Head of Maersk Hong Kong Ltd. 1996-1998

                               Deputy director of A.P. Møller - Mærsk A/S 1995-1996

             Agent and head of Corporate Secretariat of A.P. Møller - Mærsk A/S 1992-1995

                               Head of Corporate Secretariat, A.P. Møller - Mærsk A/S 1991-1992

Education: Master of Law, barrister entitled to appear before the Danish National court

Other duties: Box Club (International Council of Containership Operators), chairman of the Board

                    E. Kolding Shipping ApS, member of the management

                    Maersk Inc, member of the Board

                    Maersk Line Agency Holding A/S, chairman of the Board

                    Safmarine Container Lines N.V., chairman of the Board