Awards Set to Reward Excellence & WPTS Personality of the Year

Top 15 port operators from the Americas to Asia-Pacific vying for recognition in Environment, Innovation, Efficiency, Safety & Security

By MarEx 2013-03-06 08:49:00

A prestigious short-list of global port authorities and operators has been announced ahead of the World Ports & Trade Summit annual awards dinner to be held on March 19th in Abu Dhabi.

Winners from the short-list will be announced during the gala awards dinner which recognises and honours outstanding industry performance in the areas of innovation, the environment, efficiency and port safety and security. The short-listed winners have been selected from a high profile judging panel of Mr EE Mitropoulos, Secretary-General Emeritus of the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) and Dr Peter Swift, former MD of Intertanko.

The awards are an integral part of the World Ports & Trade Summit, which takes place from 19-20 March at the St Regis Saadiyat Island Resort - under the patronage of HH General Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces - and in strategic partnership with Abu Dhabi Ports Company (ADPC),

Presided-over by leading international broadcaster and presenter, Naga Munchetty - who will also host the summit’s opening keynote session as well as moderate the economic and trading forum - the awards shortlist features operators from the Americas to Asia-Pacific.

The 4 awards will be presented before the highlight of the evening – the WPTS Ports Personality of the Year - is announced.  A hotly contended title, the first WPTS World Ports Award was given to Eddy Bruyninckx, CEO of the Port of Antwerp in recognition of the outstanding job he has done in the Port of Antwerp over a period of 20 years, in the fields of business development, port organisation, sustainability and corporate social responsibility. This year’s winner will also have demonstrable traits.

The shortlisted nominees for the Environmental category, which recognises a port company or authority that has made a notable contribution to the environment, are Port of Antwerp, Sydney Ports, Port of Gothenburg, Port of Rotterdam and Port of Los Angeles.

Rewarding the port or terminal that has demonstrated significant innovative thinking in any aspect of its operations, which deliver real benefits for its customers, the Innovation category features candidates representing the Sri Lanka Ports Authority, Transnet National Port Authority (South Africa) and Port of Barcelona.

Port safety and security, which presents a perennial challenge for operators on various continents, has once again proven to be the most popular award category, with a shortlist of nominees hoping to be recognised for their commitment to security above and beyond the requirements of the ISPS Code. The shortlist includes Port of Singapore Authority, Port of London Authority, Port of Antwerp,

The Efficiency award, which judges a port or terminal which has demonstrated a significant improvement in efficiency over the past 12 months in any aspect of port operations has a short list of Tanzania Port Authority, Busan Port Authority, Kuwait and Gulf Links Ports International and Shanghai International Port Group.

World Ports & Trade Summit is an annual calendar event for global economists, port authorities, terminal operators, shipping companies, global cargo owners and investors, the two-day summit will take place at the five-star St Regis Saadiyat Island Resort.

Organised by Seatrade, the World Ports & Trade Summit is held in strategic partnership with the Abu Dhabi Ports Company (ADPC).

The products and services herein described in this press release are not endorsed by The Maritime Executive.