Foxx Names New Maritime Advisory Panel


By MarEx 2016-07-20 20:27:54

U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx has announced the appointment of 29 new members to the Marine Transportation System National Advisory Committee (MTSNAC).  

Established in 2010, MTSNAC is comprised of industry leaders that advise the Secretary and the Maritime Administration on policies to ensure that the U.S. Marine Transportation System is capable of responding to projected trade increases.

Committee members undertake information-gathering activities and develop technical advice before presenting recommendations. MTSNAC policy recommendations have led to the expansion of the Marine Transportation System, the integration of Marine Highways into the surface transportation system and the improvement and streamlining of the Title XI ship financing process.

“The maritime industry is facing many challenges and is made up of different interests,” Maritime Administrator Paul “Chip” Jaenichen said.  “However, bringing those interests together on this Committee has played a vital role in helping us develop our National Maritime Transportation Strategy to ensure we remain viable and competitive in the 21st Century.”

MTSNAC is comprised of 40 members from commercial transportation firms, shipbuilding, repair and recycling companies, trade associations, state and local entities, labor organizations, academics and environmental groups.  Committee members serve two-year terms, with no more than two consecutive term re­appointments, and approximately one-third of members’ terms of office expire every two years.

The new members are:

•    Gary Adams, Vice President Global Logistics, Walmart Stores Inc.
•    Robert Berry, Vice President, International Shipbreaking Limited, LLC
•    Gary Brown, Vice President Port Sales, Genesee & Wyoming – Coastal Region
•    Molly Campbell, Director, Port Commerce Department, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
•    Gregory Faust, Director of Operations, Department of Transportation – Washington State Ferries Division
•    Peter Ford, Chief Strategy Officer, Ports America
•    John Graykowski, Principal, Maritime Industry Consultants
•    Bill Hanson, Vice President, Great Lakes Dredge & Dock Company, LLC
•    Daniel Harmon, Director, Maritime Division, Texas Department of Transportation
•    Susan Hayman, Vice President, Health, Safety, Quality & External Affairs, Foss Maritime Company
•    Jared Henry, Vice President – U.S. Government Trade, Hapag-Lloyd USA, LLC
•    Tim Hinkley, Senior Vice President – Global Logistics, Hasbro Inc.
•    Jim Kruse, Director, Center for Ports & Waterways, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
•    Gary LaGrange, President & Chief Executive Officer, Port of New Orleans
•    Griff Lynch, Chief Operating Officer/Incoming Executive Director, Georgia Ports Authority
•    Jim Pelliccio, President & CEO, Port Newark Container Terminal
•    William Pennella, Vice-Chairman and Executive Vice President, Crowley Maritime Corporation
•    Torey Presti, President, National Shipping Agencies, Inc.
•    Jonathan Rosenthal, Principal, Saybrook Corporate Opportunity Funds
•    Scott Sigman, Transportation & Export Infrastructure Lead, Illinois Soybean Association
•    Anne Strauss-Weider, Director, Freight Planning, North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority
•    Captain Richard Suttie, Executive Director, University Advanced Partnership Initiative, Center for Homeland Security and Defense, Naval Postgraduate School
•    John Townsend, Maritime Systems Specialist, Honeywell Technology Solutions, Inc.
•    Dr Thomas Wakeman III, Research Professor, Stevens Institute of Technology
•    Robert Wellner, Executive Vice President, Liberty Global Logistics LLC
•    Thomas Wetherald, Director of Business Development and Strategic Planning, General Dynamics-NASSCO
•    Lisa Wieland, Port Director, Massachusetts Port Authority
•    Brian Wright, President & Chief Executive Officer, Owensboro Riverport Authority

Ex-Officio Non-Voting Member

Captain James Jenkins, USCG, Senior Maritime Safety and Security Advisor to the Secretary, Department of Transportation