Worldwide Ferry Safety & Technology Conference in May


By The Maritime Executive 2017-04-21 15:37:13

4th Annual Ferry Design Competition – Awards to be Presented at May Conference

The Worldwide Ferry Safety Association (WFSA) will be presenting awards to the winners of its Ferry Design Competition at its upcoming Ferry Safety & Technology Conference.

Nine student teams from around the world submitted their ideas for design of a safe affordable ferry for the Chao Phraya River in Bangkok. They designed a 200 passenger ferry that could become a new addition to 59-vessel fleet of the Chao Phraya River Express Boat Company, which currently has 38 landings along its 30 km route. The Chao Phraya River Express Boat company has maximized the value of its landings to passengers by creating intermodal links and adding shopping and recreational opportunities. The ferries are also a tourist attraction as they ply the storied river past magnificent gilded temples- see the picture below.

Of the nine teams that submitted designs, six teams came from Asian universities. Four of the teams come from India: Two teams from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur; and one each from Tolani Maritime Institute in Pune and the Indian Maritime University in Visakhapatnam. The other Asia teams are from the University of Cebu, Philippines and the Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember, Surabaya, Indonesia. From Europe, there is one team, from University of Liege, Belgium. There are two teams from North America, one from the Universidad Veracruzana, Vera Cruz, Mexico and the other from the Webb Institute, Glen Cove, US.

The Worldwide Ferry Safety Association expects to inform the winning teams by April 23 and to present awards at a brief ceremony in connection with the Ferry Safety and Technology Conference to be held in NYC May 11 2017. The Executive Director of the Chao Phraya Express Boat Company, Mr. Farn Sritrairatana will present the awards.

The products and services herein described in this press release are not endorsed by The Maritime Executive.