Ship Efficiency Awards 2014 Winners Announced

By MarEx 2014-10-06 11:43:00

An international audience of maritime industry experts and innovators gathered together to celebrate the winners of the inaugural Ship Efficiency Awards on 2nd October 2014. The awards followed two days of lively discussion and debate during the 4th annual Ship Efficiency: The Event in London. 

The Ship Efficiency Awards, organized by Fathom and hosted with event partner Lloyd’s Register, showcased a broad range of individuals and companies committed to streamlining operations and shaping the future towards a greener and more efficient industry.

Arsenio Dominguez, Chairman of the IMO MEPC, officially opened the awards encouraging the audience to embrace technologies in order to stay competitive in the current market environment.

“We know that we have a very effective shipping transport sector, but we have competition from all sides, in a very competitive transport industry. We keep hearing about how environmental awareness is increasing, how we have to increase safety and security and this becomes a challenge for our industry. But the reality is that this is nothing new, it happens all the time and we have to face competition every year, every hour.”

“Why not take into account all the effort, all the investment, all the time that goes into R&D and embrace technology and innovation and use it in a way to move forward towards that outcome that we all share – better environmental protection, a very competitive and efficient market, safe and secure ships on clean oceans. It is events like this that bring us all together to share our experiences to achieve this.”
The winners for each category of the Ship Efficiency Awards 2014 are:

The Energy Efficiency Solution Award, sponsored by Simplex Turbulo 

Winner: Eniram  for Eniram Speed 2.0

“At Eniram we work very hard to get to the forefront of technology and to push the boundaries. This is a fantastic recognition for us and we thank you.” Nick Pinkney, Sales Director, EMEA, Eniram

Environmental Technology Award, sponsored by Inmarsat

Winner: Hempel AS for Hempaguard

 “We are proud and delighted that HEMPAGUARD® has been recognized by the expert judges on the Shipping Efficiency Award panel as an environmental leader. HEMPAGUARD® is a completely new technology that combines the best of both worlds: the smooth, fuel-efficient surface from silicone coatings and the durable protection against fouling known from antifoulings. Apart from the fuel efficiency benefits of using HEMPAGUARD, it also allows operators up to 120 days idle...” Claes Skat-Roerdam, Marketing Manager, Hempel A/S

Initiative of the Year sponsored by Sailors’ Society

Winner: Corvus Energy for Scandlines Hybrid Ferries

 “We are very proud to be honored with this, it is fantastic. At Scandlines, with the Corvus product we believe we have found a new way to save energy for the future.” Fini A. Hansen, Technical Superintendent, Fleet Management, Scandlines Danmark ApS
Sustainable Ship Operator of the Year sponsored by Marorka 

Winner: Maersk Line

“We are delighted to be recognized for our commitment to sustainable shipping. We have made significant reductions in our CO2 emissions over the last year, and this award is dedicated to our employees and customers who support our efforts.” Signe Jensen, Head of Sustainability, Maersk Line

The One to Watch sponsored by the UK Chamber of Shipping 

Winner: B9 Shipping
 “We have been very fortuitous to work with tremendous collaborators and I would like to thank all of the parties who have contributed to B9 Shipping. We have had support from academic institutions, large corporate companies and other SMEs, making it the most exciting part of building a 100% renewably powered sailing ship.” Diane Gilpin, Director, B9 Shipping

The final category of the Ship Efficiency Awards, the ‘Outstanding Contribution to Ship Efficiency’ award, recognized individuals pioneering innovation and environmental protection in the maritime industry. The winner of the award was voted for by the general public via the website over the last couple of weeks.
Outstanding Contribution to Ship Efficiency Award sponsored by Fathom

Winner: Dr Anne-Marie Warris – Ecoreflect

“Thank you everyone who voted and everyone who I have worked with in the past. This is a great shock and I am very honored to have been voted for this award.” Dr Anne-Marie Warris, Ecoreflect

Catherine Austin, Director of Fathom, said “We are absolutely delighted with the response the Ship Efficiency Awards has received from the maritime community in its first year and offer our congratulations to not only the winners and all finalists, but to all of those that submitted entries for the awards. The quantity and quality of all entries received truly shows that the shipping industry is one that is committed to becoming more efficient, innovative, greener and a leader in the transportation sector.”

The products and services herein described in this press release are not endorsed by The Maritime Executive.