Six Candidates in IMO Secretary General Election


By MarEx 2015-04-01 21:03:28

IMO has received six nominations for the position of Secretary-General of IMO by the established deadline of 31 March 2015.

The election for the post will be held at the 114th session of the 40-Member strong IMO Council, which meets from June 29 to July 3, 2015. The decision of the Council will be submitted to the IMO Assembly, which meets for its 29th session from November 23 to December 2, 2015, for its approval.

The nominations received, listed in alphabetical order by surname are:

Andreas Chrysostomou, Cyprus, Acting Director of the Department of Merchant Shipping

Vitaly Klyuev, Russia, Deputy Director of the Department of State Policy for Maritime and River Transport

Ki-tack Lim, South Korea, head of the Busan Port Authority

Dr Maximo Q. Mejia Jr, Philippines, head of the Philippine Marine Industrial Authority

Andreas Nordseth, Denmark, Director General of the Danish Maritime Authority

Juvenal Shiundu, Kenya, Kenya’s representative at IMO

The present secretary general, Koji Sekimizu, ends his four-year term as Secretary-General on December 31, 2015. He is the seventh elected Secretary-General from Japan. 

Sekimizu was elected to office ahead of Lee Sik Chai, South Korea; Andreas Chrysostomou, Cyprus; Neil Frank Ferrer, Philippines, Jeffrey Lantz, U.S.; and Esteban Pacha  Vicente, Spain.