Cummings Receives Coast Guard Award

Published Mar 9, 2011 6:16 PM by The Maritime Executive

Congressman honored for long-term vision and leadership.

Congressman Elijah E. Cummings (MD-07), Chairman of the House Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation Subcommittee, will join Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ) Wednesday night as both legislators are awarded the Commodore Ellsworth P. Bertholf Award by the United States Coast Guard. Rep. Cummings and Sen. Lautenberg will receive the award at a ceremony in the Capitol.

The Bertholf Award is an award presented annually to a Member of Congress who has demonstrated long-term vision and leadership, while making substantial contributions to support the men and women of the United States Coast Guard and enhance the ability of the Service to carry out its missions.

“I am proud to join Senator Lautenberg and all of the previous recipients of this award,” said Cummings. “As Chairman of the Subcommittee that oversees the Coast Guard, it has been my privilege to work with the men and women of the Coast Guard. I hope that, during my time as Chairman, we have been able to create a more efficient and effective service that is fully prepared to protect the American people and ensure the safety of our maritime transportation system. I thank the Coast Guard for this recognition and I will treasure it.”

Past Award recipients include Representative C.W. Bill Young (R-FL), Senator Daniel Inouye (D-HI), Representative Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ) and Senator Robert Byrd (D-WV).

WHO: Congressman Elijah E. Cummings and Senator Frank Lautenberg

WHAT: Ceremony to award Bertholf Award by USCG

WHEN: Wednesday, December 1, 2010 at 5:30 p.m.

WHERE: S-127 (Senate Appropriations Committee Room) in U.S. Capitol