Australian Navy’s Future Submarine Class Named: Attack

Artist impression of the attack class
Artist impression of the Attack class

By The Maritime Executive 12-15-2018 05:51:19

The Royal Australian Navy’s future submarines will be named the Attack class, with the first submarine being named HMAS Attack.

The first of the 12 new submarines is not expected to be operational until at least the early 2030s. They will be built by France's Naval Group (formerly DCNS) and will gradually replace the Navy's Collins class submarines. Naval Group’s Shortfin Barracuda Block 1A submarine will be one of the most advanced conventionally-powered submarines in the world, says the Navy, and they will be built in Australia by ASC at the Osborne Naval Shipyard in South Australia. Engineering company Laing O'Rourke will build a new submarine yard at Osborne. Around 60 percent of each submarine will be built locally as was the case with the Collins Class.

Chief of Navy, Vice Admiral Noonan, said the name Attack represents the inherent stealth, long-range endurance and lethality of a submarine.

“The future submarine project is a major part of the Naval Shipbuilding Plan, and, it is appropriate that the class name be established now given the significant effort already underway  to introduce this critical capability that will protect Australia’s security and prosperity for decades to come,” he said. “The name Attack along with its motto ‘Never Waver’ captures the tradition of tenacity and determination within the Australian Submarine service.”

This is the second time the Royal Australian Navy has used the name Attack, with the name previously used for the class of Patrol Boats that served from 1967 to 1985.